Foundation Board

Jane Vincent – independent member (Chair)


Jane is a Performance driven, entrepreneurial professional with over 20 year’s recruitment/resourcing experience. She is people-focused with excellent communication skills and a proven track record in tendering, winning and delivering major contracts. A driver who influences people to think differently, Jane is constantly looking for new and innovative ideas to move businesses forward. With proven skills in leadership; inspiring, developing and motivating teams to consistently surpass targets, Jane is passionate & driven energiser, who leads by example. In 2012 Jane was given recognition as winner of the Bradford Inspirational Woman Entrepreneur 2012, an award which closely followed her success as winner of the Bradford Telegraph and Argus Business Woman of the Year Award 2011.

Alison Herbert – independent member


Alison is an experienced solicitor, businesswoman and unrelenting issues champion with exceptional communication skills gained from 25 years as a litigator. Alison founded and ran her own financially successful client focused legal practice for 12 years during which time she developed the ability to be objective, to review complex financial and business data, spot trends and adapt business models accordingly. In addition to this, Alison is a trustee of Relate Harrogate & York and Relate Mid Yorkshire; founding member of the ‘Roofie Foundation’ in 1998, which was responsible for raising public awareness of the misuse of Rohypnol drug resulting in police adopting Roofie Foundation’s recommendations for combating drug misuse and conceived, implemented and led an art based fund raising initiative at Ripon Grammar school raising the largest income (£10,000) achieved in a single fund raising event in the whole of the school’s history.

David Kennedy – independent member


Since retiring in September 2006 from the post of Interim Chief Executive of Bradford Council David has been engaged in a range of activities. These activities and positions include: Volunteering on Right to Read Programme; Chair of Governors at Frizinghall Primary School; Director of The Peace Museum; Honorary Visiting Fellow University of Bradford; Volunteer Tools for Self Reliance. Prior to this, David held a number of senior positions with Bradford Council, which he joined in 1972 having gained his diploma in Psychiatric Social Work. His academic achievements since then include an MA in Social Policy and BA in Humanities.

Janice McDevitt Lee – independent member


Jan’s successful career in the teaching profession led to her recognition as Regional Winner of the National Teaching Awards (1999) in the category ‘Working with Parents and the Community’ and finalist in the National Awards of that year. Retiring in 2007 from her post as Head of Children & Young People’s Participation with Bradford & Airedale PCT, Jan’s other roles include work for Bradford Vision; Bradford Health Authority; secondment as Consultant Deputy Headteacher to assist a failing school and Bradford Education Business Partnership. Jan’s current and past voluntary activities include: Vice Chair of Governors/Chair of Staffing Committee in a Bradford secondary school; Trustee of the Charitable Foundation at the Yorkshire Building Society; Director at Bradford YMCA; Past President of Rotary Club of Bradford Bronte and Assessor for Bradford Schools’ Drugs Prevention Initiative.  She is also a volunteer at the Bronte Parsonage Museum delivering guided walks and talks.

Neera Tyagi – independent member


Neera has been part of the Incommunities governance structure since September 2008. Having now moved from the Housing Association Board to the Foundation Board, she brings with experience in project management including performance management systems. She has a wide experience of strategic planning, managing  change, projects, operations, people, finance, research, setting standards and performance measures, implementing policy at national level, delivering training and speaking at conferences.

Martin Smith – independent member


Martin has been Chair of Incommunities Group Board since the company was formed in 2003. Having been in that role for 10 years, Martin has stepped down and is now sharing his skills and experience on the Foundation Board. A Councillor for 23 years, Martin has a great deal of involvement in his local environment, supporting  Rotary Ilkley/Wharfedale club and is Chairman of the Ilkley Youth and Community Association. He is also a governor of Ilkley Grammar School Academy and is interested in the 6th Form and community development with particular involvement in careers advice, which links into his involvement with Bradford Chamber of Commerce. Additionally, Martin has run his own Architectural Design practice for over 45 years which has given him excellent insight into planning and construction environment, as well as expertise in partnership working.

Liz Weatherill – independent member


Liz is MD of Enable2 Community Interest Company, a social enterprise, providing an interpretation and translation service to a variety of public and private sector clients. She also acts as an Apprenticeship Ambassador for the National Apprenticeship Service, which involves her in actively promoting the concept of apprenticeships and the associated benefits to both employer and employee, and is a director of Leep Forward (Legacy Ethical Entrepreneurial Projects) This is a newly formed social enterprise developed by a group of business people who attended the Goldman Sachs 10,000 Small Businesses programme in 2011/12. The cohort was so impressed with the concept of social enterprise they wanted to develop an organisation that could use their collective skills and give back to society. Leep provides funding, guidance and mentoring to companies and individuals who need support to make a difference in their local communities.